UW-BSC Honors Outstanding Students, Faculty and Staff at Scholarship & Awards Night


The community gathered together on Friday, May 3 to honor UW-BSC students, faculty and staff for their outstanding scholarship and service. The following students received awards.

Pedro Herrera: Excellence in Mathematics Award
Sarah Suleski: David Cole Creative Writing Award

Elif Ayar: Phelps Excellence in Science Award

Hillary Nyen: Faculty/Staff Distinguished Scholar Award

Lisa Smith: Lisa Smith "Paying It Forward” Award (Inaugural Award)

Mark Tomlinson: SGA Special Award

Jaire Berlin: David Cole Creative Writing Award
Mark Hollendyke: Max Sparger Scholar Athlete Award

Sauk City
Brandon Hoege: Faculty/Staff Distinguished Scholar Award

Wisconsin Dells
Nicole Warren: Faculty/Staff Distinguished Scholar Award

The 2012-13 Student Government Association (SGA) was honored for their year of service. Members included President Gabe Riviere, Vice President Justin Fuller, Public Relations Manager Caleb Dodge, Executive Director Mark Tomlinson, and Senators Cristeta German, Cyrus Pekala, Rosendo Portillo, Jarrett Schnaare, Krysta Moore, Diana Verwey, Mariah Anderson and Tim Carney.

2013-2014 SGA Officers are President Mark Tomlinson, Public Relations Manager Justin Fuller and Senators Krysta Moore and Rosendo Portillo.

SGA recognized the contributions of the following UW-BSC faculty and staff.

Outstanding Faculty Award: Bill Christian, Senior Lecturer of Mathematics
Outstanding Staff Award: Brad Wilson, Food Service Assistant
Special Recognition Faculty Award: Dale Murray, Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Special Recognition Staff Award: Tom Wells, Custodian

The evening culminated with a scholarships ceremony for continuing students. Each year UW-BSC awards nearly 50 scholarships totaling over $25,000, most through the Friends of the Campus, Inc.- UW-Baraboo Sauk County Foundation.

Lucas Batista: Friends of the Campus Adult Freshman Scholarship
Lacey Goerks: Betsy Schuhmann Memorial Scholarship
Kayla McGonigle: Friends of the Campus Continuing Student Scholarship
Andrea Szabados: Life Sciences Scholarship
Ellen Weiland: Megan Dorn Excellence in Service Scholarship
Terrie Williams: Thomas R. and Gertrude A. Regan Scholarship (Inaugural Award)

Hillary Nyen: Jenny Eddy Nursing Scholarship

Kendra Koback: Kassi Dallmann Memorial Scholarship

North Freedom
Tim Carney: Friends of the Campus Continuing Student Scholarship
Harley Soerfass: J. Tod Meserow/Friends of the Campus Scholarship

Ashley Meyers: UW Oshkosh Chancellor’s Scholarship

Mark Tomlinson: J. Tod Meserow/Friends of the Campus Scholarship

Mikaela Zenz: Inez Musch Memorial Scholarship

Sauk City
Brandon Hoege: Dean Michael Brophy Fine Arts Scholarship

Wisconsin Dells
Jocelyn Meltesen: American Association of University Women Scholarship
Nicole Warren: Field Family Scholarship

More information about UW-BSC is available online at baraboo.uwc.edu.


Nicole Thompson
(608) 355-5258